Commandant’s Staff

The Commandant’s Staff is directly responsible to the Commandant of Cadets, who is in charge of leadership and character development, military training, mentoring, counseling, discipline and accountability of the Corps of Cadets. The Corps of Cadets is organized based on the US Army Cavalry model — a single cadet regiment comprising of three squadrons with four troops each.

For our cadet parents/guardians, your cadet’s Troop Leadership Advisor (TLA) is your primary point of contact when you have questions or concerns, followed by your cadet’s Squadron Leadership Advisor (SLA). We encourage your comments, feel free to contact us at the following phone numbers!

TLA Command Post (24/7 Operations, all non-emergency calls)

  • (575) 624-8478
  • (575) 624-8163

Campus Police

  • Police Chief: Jerry Lonowski –  (575) 624-8421 or (575) 910-3450

 Deputy Commandant for Operations (DCO)

  • LTC Gustavo Garza –  (575) 624-8405 or Garza@nmmi.edu

Deputy Commandant for Support (DCS)

  • LtCol Arthur C. Houghtby II, USMCR – (575) 624-8404 or Houghtby@nmmi.edu

Administration (Commandant’s Office)

  • Special Projects Analyst/Administrative Specialist: Gloria Baum – (575) 624-8400 or Baum@nmmi.edu
  • Administrative Assistant: Faith Johnson –  (575) 624-8402 or Johnson@nmmi.edu
  • Data Entry Clerk: Jennifer French – (575) 624-8403 or French@nmmi.edu
  • Protocol Liaison and Cadet Services: Dyanna Treat – (575) 624-8262 or DBTreat@nmmi.edu

 Cadet Counseling Center

  • Cadet Counseling Center Director: Teresa Gray – (575) 624-8211 or TGray@nmmi.edu
  • Cadet Life Coach: Ruth Netzahualt – (575) 624-8498 or Netzahualt@nmmi,edu
  • Mental Health Clinician Intern: Naeemah Reese – NReese@nmmi.edu

Cadet Accountability and Training Officer (Tour Squad)

  •  Cadet Accountability/Tour Squad Officer:  Vacant – (575) 624-8478

Command Post Officer (Tues – Sat: 1400 – 2200)

  • Command Post Watch Officer: Vacant – (575) 624-8478

Night Accountability and Control Officer (2200-0600)

  • MAJ Ken Heinzman, NMMI – (575) 910-8667 or Heinzman@nmmi.edu

Daniels Leadership Center

  • Director of Programs, DLC: Vacant – (575) 624-8348
  • Manager/Instructor/Yates Leadership Complex – LTC  Eric Evertson, NMMI – (575) 624-8139 or Evertson@nmmi.edu
  • Administrative Assistant: Betty Sanchez – (575) 624-8148 or BSanchez@nmmi.edu

SQUADRON/TROOP LEADERSHIP ADVISORS

First Squadron – High School: Troop A, B, C, D (Hagerman Barracks)

1st Squadron SLA (East Hagerman – Troops A & B): LTC John Barbour, NMMI – (575) 624-8479 or Barbour@nmmi.edu

1st Squadron SLA (West Hagerman – Troops C & D): LTC Robert Romero, NMMI, USMC (Ret) – (575) 624-8468 or RomeroR@nmmi.edu

  • Alpha TLA:  CPT Collette Lucero, NMMI (575) 624-8474 or CLucero@nmmi.edu
  • Alpha TLA: CPT George Nutty, NMMI – (575) 624-8461 or Nutty@nmmi.edu
  • Bravo TLA: CPT Aracelli Mendoza, NMMI – (575) 624- 8464 or AMendoza@nmmi.edu
  • Bravo TLA: Vacant – (575) 624-8462
  • Charlie TLA: CPT Danielle Urquides, NMMI (575) 624-8467 or Urquides@nmmi.edu
  • Charlie TLA:  CPT Siria Purcell Campo, NMMI, USA – (575) 624-8477 or Campo@nmmi.edu
  • Delta TLA:  CPT Milena Goncalez, NMMI – (575) 624-8463 or MGoncalez@nmmi.edu
  • Delta TLA:  CPT Brian Wright, NMMI, USN (575) 624-8469 or Wright1@nmmi.edu

Second Squadron – Junior College: Troop E, F, G, H (Saunders Barracks)

2nd Squadron SLA:   COL Marcelo Goncalez (575) 624-8460 or Goncalez@nmmi.edu

  • Echo TLA: CPT Sergio Gonzalez, NMMI, USMC  – (575) 624-8465 or SGonzalez@nmmi.edu
  • Foxtrot TLA:  CPT Lynn Doherty, NMMI, USA – (575) 624-8113 or Doherty@nmmi.edu
  • Golf TLA:  CPT Seth Carter, NMMI, USCG (Ret) – (575) 624-8466 or SCarter@nmmi.edu
  • Hotel TLA:  CPT Mary Dawe, NMMI – (575) 624-8470 or MDawe@nmmi.edu