Previous Commencement Speakers

Fall ceremonies are combined (high school and college). For Spring, if there is only one speaker for the high school and college ceremonies, only one speaker is listed. Prior to Spring 2014, high school and college spring ceremonies were typically combined.


High School


2021 Fall

Mr. Rick Kraft

2021 Spring

BG Douglas Murray, Ph.D., USAF (Ret.)

2020 Spring

Jordan Ta’amu, 2016 JCX, Quarterback, Kansas City Chiefs

2019 Fall

Howie Morales, Lieutenant Governor, New Mexico

2019 Spring

Xochitl Torres Small, United States House of Representatives, New Mexico

Michelle Lujan Grisham, Governor of New Mexico

2018 Fall

Dr. Shawn Powell, ENMU-Roswell President

2018 Spring

Dr. Kelly Jordan

Dr. Harrison Hagan Schmitt

2017 Fall

Major General NMNG Kenneth A. Nava

2017 Spring

John Sanchez, New Mexico Lieutenant Governor

Dr. Barbara Damron, New Mexico Cabinet Secretary – Higher Education Department

2016 Fall

Colonel Tanya A. Peacock, Interim Vice Provost of Academic Affairs, Directorate of Training and Academic Affairs, US Army Medical Department Center and School

2016 Spring

Lieutenant General Michelle D. Johnson, United States Air Force, Superintendant, United States Air Force Academy

2015 Fall

Garrey Carruthers, Ph.D., President, New Mexico State University

2015 Spring

Hannah Skandera, Secretary, New Mexico Department of Public Education

2014 Fall

Dennis Kintigh, Mayor of Roswell

2014 Spring

Steve Pearce, United States House of Representatives, New Mexico

2013 Fall

Guillermo Padres Elias, Governor of Sonora, Mexico

2013 Spring

Tim Jennings, New Mexico Senate, 1968 HSG

2012 Fall

Mr. John M. Henderson III, 1962 HSG, 1964 DMG

2012 Spring

Susana Martinez, Governor of New Mexico

2011 Fall

Lieutenant Colonel Juliana McCauslin, USAR, 1989 JCG

2011 Spring

Bobby R. Baldock, Senior Judge, US Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, 1956 JCG

2010 Fall

Phillip Ingram, President – Board of Regents, 1967 HSG

2010 Spring

O. Tracy Kelly, Chairman of the Board, Spirit Bank of Oklahoma, 1944 HSG, 1946 JCG

2009 Fall

Major General Jerry Grizzle, USANG (Ret.), NMMI Superintendent / President

2009 Spring

Marshall A. Pieczentkowski, 1959 JCG

2008 Fall

Colonel Jack Fox, AUS, NMANG

2008 Spring

Bill Richardson, Governor of New Mexico

Duty, Honor, Achievement


101 West College Blvd.  | Roswell, NM 88201

Campus Location: Lusk Hall – Second Floor