LTC Maria Carmen Gonzalez

Title: Academic Counselor
Department: Student Assistance Center
Phone: (575) 624-8375
Office: Lusk Hall 158

FALL 2015 Schedule
Course IDSecCourse NameHS/JC
SAC 005105th Class SeminarHS
SAC 005175th Class SeminarHS
SAC 005405th Class SeminarHS
SAC 005415th Class SeminarHS
SAC 005425th Class SeminarHS
SAC 005435th Class SeminarHS
SAC 005505th Class SeminarHS
SAC 005515th Class SeminarHS
SAC 005525th Class SeminarHS
SAC 005535th Class SeminarHS
MAJ Maria Carmen Gonzalez
Educational Background:


M.S.W.  New Mexico Highlands University, Children, Youth & Families Mental Health, 1999

B.S.W.   New Mexico Highlands University, Social Work, 1998

Additional Coursework: New Mexico Highlands, Degree Coursework in Secondary Education


State of New Mexico, Licensed Master Social Worker

Mental Health Specialization Certificate, 1999 - 2015


2010 - 2015  New Mexico Military Institute, Academic Advisor and High School Counselor

2012 - 2015  Domestic Violence Counselor and Group Facilitator for Court-ordered Prevention Groups in Chaves County

2005 - 2010  NMMI Junior College Academic and Career Counselor and College Lab Coordinator

2001 - 2005  New Mexico Highlands University, College Admissions Officer, Recruiter and Advisor

Honors, Awards and Publications:

National Hispanic Scholar, Magna Cum Laude, Who's Who in American Universities and Colleges


Organizations and Committees:

National Association of College Admissions Counseling (NACAC)

Rocky Mountain Association of College Admissions Counseling (RMACAC)

American School Counselor Association (ASCA)

New Mexico Counseling Association (NMCA)

League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC)

Big Brothers/Big Sisters Organization

Lions Club Organization

United Way of Chaves County

Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society Lifetime Member

NMMI Committees:

Affirmative Action Committee (2006-2007)

African American Student Alliance Club Co- Sponsor (2006-2015)

Library Liaison Committee (2009-2010)

Election Committee (2012-2015)

Speakers Advisory Committee (2014-2015)